Guest Post: skinnymommy recipe…

I found this blog that other day and just fell in LOVE with all of the information that was shared by this blogger.

I contacted Bree to ask her to do a guest post for you guys because I felt that she would be someone great to speak to you guys and also contribute to those mommy’s out there that follow my blog.

Bree has a great blog that displays so great recipe options for you to consider. I try to post some recipe options for you guys but I know that I do not always do a good job at that! So if you are needing to spice up your menu please feel free to take a look at Bree’s site!

Hello! I am so excited to be guest posting on Infinite Life Fitness. What an awesome website with great information and inspiration. (Which I could use a lot of when it comes to exercise…)
My name is Bree from www.skinnymommy.com. As foodie and recipe developer I very rarely make the same thing more than once, but my Superfood Italian Pesto I make literally once a week. I love it. My kids love it. It can be tossed with whole wheat pasta, served over grilled shrimp, pan seared fish, or grilled chicken. It also makes a wonderful base for a pizza or an Italian panini. It’s the best! With superfood kale as the base you can feel really good about eating it too.

The Skinny on Kale:

  • Highest antioxidant capacity of any vegetable

  • More calcium and iron than any other vegetable

  • It’s also rich in carotene for good eye health and contains indoles which lower “bad” cholesterol

  • Filled with fiber and sulfur, it is also a great detox food

Here’s What You Need:
2 cups of kale
1/3 cup of extra virgin olive oil
1/4 tsp each salt + pepper
Zest of 1 small lemon
Juice of 1 small lemon
1/4 cup of parmesan
1/4 cup of slivered almonds* (toasted lightly over low)

*I recommend buying the small slivers from the baking aisle otherwise, grind the almonds before adding the other ingredients.

Here’s What You Do:
Add the kale, lemon juice and lemon zest to the food processor along with the almonds, streaming in the olive oil. Process until a pesto like consistency forms. Transfer to another bowl and stir in the parmesan and the s+p.

Kid Tip:
One phrase: “Special green pasta!” Toss this with whole wheat pasta and I guarantee your kids will love it more than mac n’ cheese.


Would love to add YOU as a Facebook fan! Like www.facebook.com/skinnymommyllc

This is a great recipe that anyone can try out (to be honest I am going to try it out as well!!)

Stay motivated…and commit to be fit!

Hope you guys are having a great weekend so far!!

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Guest Post: skinnymommy recipe…

  1. britathere says:

    Thanks for the great post! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by! Please feel free to leave a comment or question. Have a wonderful day!

