…Goals and Achieving Them…

With most aspects in life you have a goal

…positive goals at work…

…positive financial goals…

…positive health and fitness goals…

But how do you stay focused to achieve these goals?

Do you write them down? Do you review them on a regular basis? Do you think of personal rewards when you achieve these goals?

When it comes to health and fitness goals it is a good idea to have one main goal.  For example, you would like to lose 50 pounds.  That is a great overall goal to have in mind.  When you have your overall goal in mind the next thing you need to do is set mini goals.  Here are some examples of  mini goals:

  • I will work out 3…4…or 5 days a week
  • I want to lose at least 5 pounds a week (which is realistic but you have to work hard for it!)
  • I will stop having cokes and switch to water
  • I will limit how many times I eat fast food
  • I will create a menu for each week and stick to what I have on that menu

When you have your main goal and your mini goals set there is one more step you should take!! You should set a reward for yourself! YES A REWARD! What is better motivation to reach your goals than to reward yourself with something you have wanted but have put off getting yourself.

If you give up sweets for a certain period of time, yes you can reward yourself with ice cream after achieve so many of your mini goals.  But the best reward you set should be for reaching your overall goal. Here is a GREAT idea a friend send to me…

For each workout that she has done, her husband will place $1 in her workout jar.  Currently her goal is to lose 30 pounds and she has estimated this to take about 8 weeks to achieve this goal.  Working out 5 days a week for 8 weeks will allow her to rack up around $40!  Wait there is more! If she reaches her goal BEFORE the 8 weeks is over her husband will DOUBLE the amount of money that is in the jar on the day she reaches her goal. Talk about motivation! She is allowed to use that money on WHATEVER she wants…new clothes…new shoes…or a night out with her and her friends to celebrate her fitness success.

When it comes to reaching your health and fitness goals, having motivation is so important! You have to have something that will push you to work hard and dig deep during your workouts.  You have so have something that will push you to stay away from the wrong foods and eat foods that will nourish your body!

Along with that motivation you need support from those around you and encouragement.

Other than the positive physical benefits you will achieve from your health and fitness goals, it is important to have something that you can reward and treat your self with.

Any day is a great day to start your new health and fitness routine….why not start today!

 

LOOK FOR Infinite Life Fitness writing articles these other websites!

Tagged , , ,

8 thoughts on “…Goals and Achieving Them…

  1. Is great inspiration but 5 lb is not alot for the first week but to do every week is very difficult! good luck

  2. Mimi says:

    Great post. I have many goals written down in many notebooks. I set a goal to walk 52 weeks for my birthday last year and did. Through rain, snow, frigid and terribly hot weather. it proved to me if I do one thing consistently I can get it done. Didn’t even bother writing that one down. Your tips about breaking larger goals into smaller ones and then rewarding myself would work well for me I think. I think rewarding myself was the missing piece. Think it will work even better if I contribute a dollar to myself. Thanks for stopping by my blog, First Come Flowers.

  3. I love this idea! That’s some great motivation ❤

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog, what did you have in mind? I have never guest posted on another blog before!! Not sure about how to go by it. Send me an email and let me know what you have in mind 🙂

  5. I do a similar idea but with shoes! Great motivation for going a little harder on your runs and on the elliptical machine if you are day dreaming of pairing killer calves with killer heels.

Thanks for stopping by! Please feel free to leave a comment or question. Have a wonderful day!

